Photographs and Photographers that I admire

My most favourite picture ever is The Afghan girl by Steve McCurry in the cover of National Geographic magazine Volume 167, No 6 (June 1985). I have been following his work since I discovered this image. McCurry loves colours and my style of photography consists of colours. I love the way how McCurry plays with Depth of Field in all of his pictures.

 

Afghan girl
The Afghan girl, 1985 (A great example of portraiture and Shallow depth of field)

 

rajasthan
Women climb up stepwells in India, 2002 (An example of a wide depth of field)

I love taking pictures of people and portraiture. And Dan Winters is one of my favourite photographers when it comes to portrait photography. Winters is known for non-vivid imagery which I am very much intrigued to learn. The photograph of President Barack Obama’s Silhouette in the Oval Office from the New York Times magazine (2016) caught my eye.

dan winters obama
Presidential by Dan Winters, The New York Times (2016)

Other favourites by Dan Winters are two portraits of Actor Leonardo DiCaprio from The New York Times Magazine (2002).

 Leonardo DiCaprio from The New York Times Magazine (2002)

Nadav Kander is another example to get inspired for landscape, fashion and portrait photography. Kander is known to use double exposure, which I am intrigued to learn as well. My favourite work of his is a potrait of Actor Eddie Redmayne, which I found in his Instagram account, that was published in The Observer on November 2016.

 

01_EDDIE-REDMAYNE-—-THE-OBSERVER_Nadav-Kander.jpg_Nadav-Kander
Eddie Redmayne from The Observer (November 2016)

Other work by Kander that I admire is one with Landing Light Trails.

 

39_LANDING-LIGHT-TRAILS-I-LAX-LOS-ANGELES-USA-—-I-WISH-I-WERE-NEAR-YOU_Nadav-Kander
LANDING LIGHT TRAILS I, LAX, LOS ANGELES, USA – I WISH I WERE NEAR YOU from wefolk.com

All these studies on various photographers gave me an insight into how photography varies from one person to another and also gave me ideas on future projects.

Leave a comment